Looking into Your Coffin


I once heard a preacher ask, “When people file past your coffin, what would you like them to say about you?”

He paused to let the import of his sobering question sink in. Then he said, “I know what I want them to say about me. I want someone to peer into my coffin and say, ‘Look! He’s moving!’ ”

My wife and I were talking recently about King Jehoram, who reigned for eight years in Israel and died a horrible death at age forty in 841 B.C. Scripture tells us that after two years of suffering with a foul disease, “his bowels came out because of the disease, and he died in great agony. ” (2 Chr 21.19) How’s that for a cause of death?

But what is even more telling about Jehoram than the description of his death is the description of his life. The chronicler goes on to say, “His people made no fires in his honor, like the fires made for his fathers. He was thirty-two years old when he began to reign, and he reigned eight years in Jerusalem.  And he departed with no one’s regret.” (2 Chr 21.19,20)

I don’t know about you, but I would like my life to make a more positive impact than that.

What do you think?

