It’s Tough Being Rich


The other day when we opened our hotel room door, USA Today was waiting for us on the floor. In it there was an article about an ex-NFL star who, despite his $6.45 million in assets, owes $6.7 million to various creditors and has filed for bankruptcy. His assets include 240 pairs of high-end sneakers, a $2,250 watch and a $1,200 lion skin rug. His average weekly income is twice my annual salary.

Poor fella.

Many professional athletes have grown up in poverty, but their athletic prowess has allowed them the chance to live their dreams in opulent wealth. Some of them are unable to cope with the contrast. Greed, arrogance and irresponsibility drive them to opulent poverty. How could a man worth $6.45 million go bankrupt?

Easy. By owing $6.7 million.

Thanking them for a sacrificial gift they had sent to him, the Apostle Paul told the church at Philippi,

“…Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Phi 4.11-13, ESV)

It’s tough being poor. But it can also be tough being rich. Not everyone can do it. The key, Paul says, is to learn to be content, and to lean on the Saviour.

2 thoughts on “It’s Tough Being Rich”

  1. When I announced to “the family” (unsaved) I was going to Bible College at age 41, my father took me aside & told me, “A little bit of god is OK; stay here and make a lot of money!” I decided in favor of serving the Lord. I ask you: Where is my “treasure?” Who has stored up more treasure – me, in my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, or my now deceased, unsaved father and his worldly wealth? The real question in light of this article however is, which of us will/did end up `bankrupt,’ despite our worldly wealth? Matt. 6:21. Clovis

What do you think?

