It Makes No Difference How Your Kids Turn Out


Of course it matters how your kids turn out. I just wrote that to get your attention.

Yesterday our youngest son became a father. Dryden Robert Heijermans was born at suppertime to Seth and his precious wife, Bethany, in Virgina Beach. We couldn’t be happier.

When our first son was born, my father made a profound comment. (That’s a habit with him.)  He said, “You know, I used to think that the test of whether or not a man was a good father was how his kids turned out. But now I realize that’s not true. It’s how your grandchildren turn out that really tells the tale.”

Dad was thinking of this verse when he made that observation:

“Grandchildren are the crown of the aged, and the glory of children is their fathers.” (Pro 17.6, ESV)

I don’t believe I’ve really learned something until I’ve taught it to someone else. In the same way, it could not have been said that I embraced my parents’ values if I had not sought to instill them in my own children. There is a difference between compliance and conviction, between agreement and commitment.

When our daughter was nine or ten, she baked her first pie. It was outstanding, and the crust was perfect–crisp and flaky and golden brown. After his first bite, her older brother said, “Anneke, this pie is fantastic–the crust is just as good as Grammy’s!” Her younger brother–the new dad–quipped, “It must skip a generation.” Even my wife laughed.

Geneticists tell us some things do skip generations. Character does not seem to be one of them.

2 thoughts on “It Makes No Difference How Your Kids Turn Out”

What do you think?

