Anticipation


We look forward to things all the time. Last night I roasted some coffee my niece’s husband sent from Bali, and I’m looking forward to enjoying some later this morning. I absolutely couldn’t wait to get home from my two trips—traveling alone is not much fun, and knowing my wife was more or less stranded at home made it worse. I was really looking forward to enjoying a wheel of Colonia cheese from Uruguay (just smelling it, hefting its weight and seeing it in its wax cocoon festooned with the maker’s mark made my mouth water), but the Chilean aduana confiscated it in Santiago! Hope his kids enjoyed it. But these are all little things in comparison to the “day of God”, which we are to anticipate not only with our hearts, but also with our lives:

“Since all these things are thus to be dissolved, what sort of people ought you to be in lives of holiness and godliness, waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be set on fire and dissolved, and the heavenly bodies will melt as they burn!”    2 Pet 3.11,12

I have to admit I struggle with anticipating the destruction of the earth and the solar system, as there are so many things I don’t understand about this matter. I do know that God’s glory will be manifest in this event, which should give me the most satisfaction and greatest sense of awe and anticipation. I also know that in some mysterious way, my life can speed the arrival of this day—an unfathomable truth related to my faithfulness and effectiveness as a “kind of firstfruits of His creatures”. (Jam 1.18) I often feel neither faithful nor effective, and I don’t think nearly as much as I should about the coming of Christ or the momentous events that will follow it. Life is too often occupied with trivial, fleeting expectations; too seldom with eternal, cosmic anticipation. (From Carta del norte, 24 March 2010)

3 thoughts on “Anticipation”

  1. I’m learning to be less dogmatic about some prophetic matters, but katakaio is a pretty strong verb. It evokes complete consumption by fire rather than the “purification” accomplished by the Flood. If I have something that is so filthy I can’t get it clean by washing it, I burn it–the nature of fire leaving me no expectation of ever using it again.

    Also, Rev 21.1ff seem to indicate pretty clearly that the first heaven and earth aren’t around anymore.

    God is certainly not going to follow our advice on this matter, so I’m satisfied with whatever He decides.

What do you think?

